Five Year Institute: About Loyola Chicago

Loyola University Chicago, a private university founded in 1870 as St. Ignatius College, is one of the nation’s largest Jesuit, Catholic Universities and the only one located in Chicago.

Recognizing Loyola’s excellence in education, U.S. News and World Report has ranked Loyola consistently among the top "national universities" in its annual publications. Loyola is among a select group of universities recognized for community service and engagement by prestigious national organizations like the Carnegie Foundation and the Corporation for National and Community Service.


At a Glance

Facts and figures about Loyola University Chicago:

  • Jo Ann Rooney, JD, LLM, EdD, President
  • Total enrollment: 17,007
  • 80+ undergraduate majors and 80+ minors
  • 170+ graduate, professional, and graduate-level certificate programs
  • More than 4,000 faculty and staff members
  • 14:1 undergraduate student/faculty ratio
  • 150,000 alumni; 85,000 in Chicago
  • One of only 8 percent of all American colleges and universities to have a Phi Beta Kappa honor society chapter


For More Information

Click here to learn more about Loyola University Chicago.